Rangecast FAQ
[FAQ-1105] Creating a Rangecast World (or saving changes to an existing World)


Page Type: REFERENCE


OVERVIEW

Rangecast Worlds can be created by any Rangecast user, and saved to a folder within their user account. The process is that a user loads an existing Rangecast world, makes changes in the player, and saves to their own user account. Once a World is created, any Rangecast user can access it (by name), but only the author can overwrite the existing World with changes. (Other users can save to a new World name.)


BACKGROUND

For information about Rangecast Worlds


[FAQ-1102] What is a Rangecast World?

A "World" in Rangecast is a package defining a set of channels about which the Rangecast player receives notifications of new transmissions (note: whether these transmissions are reported to the user depends on player settings), and a set of "Views" arranging all or some of these Channels in different ways.



METHOD

Every custom World is created in this way:

1) loading an existing World in the Rangecast player (any World, the user does not need to be an "owner" of this world)

2) making customization changes in their player (creating or modifying Views, grouping channels into shared buttons, etc)

3) saving their changes (only into their own folder of Custom worlds.)

If the user owns the World loaded in step 1, then the user can save changes to the same World name in step 3. In this case, any other Rangecast user who uses this World will see the changes when launching the Rangecast player in the future.

If the user does not own the world loaded in step 3, then the user does not have write permissions to save changes to that same World name, and instead the user will save changes to a different World stored in their own user account folder. For other users to see these changes, they must use the different World name where this was saved. The original world loaded in step 1 is unchanged.


EXCEPTIONS

All users with "single-user" Rangecast accounts can save Worlds. However, users accessing Rangecast through "multi-user" (shared) accounts cannot save any settings to the shared account, and therefore cannot save Worlds.


[FAQ-1098] User Accounts: Single-User vs Multi-User

User accounts come in two varieties -- single-user and multi-user.




CITATIONS

REFERENCE


Rangecast FAQ - ID 1105 - last updated 02 August 2017     Images shown - [block]